Skip to content

Old Gray Whistle Test…

July 5, 2011

Once in a while I go and dig around all the stuff that is available to me on YouTube. Sometimes I will dig around and just watch things I have seen before. A trip down memory lane if you will. But once in a while I find something brand new and interesting.

Today’s interesting find, for me anyway, is an old BBC show call the The Old Gray Whistle Test. From 1971 to 1987 this show played music from bands and musicians that may not have been complete household names. Or at least that seems to be story that I glean from Wikipedia article.. Of course most of what I found is on my nostalgia radar, some of it at the fringe of what would could be considered famous, others smack dab in the middle of huge careers.

So I figured I would share some gems I founds from this hunt.

So lets start with a man that, love or hate, you have to admit he has had a seriously good career. Billy Joel.

And what is a music post from me without Tom Waits?

How about a very early video of Bob Marley and the Wailers?

Alice Cooper too?

And it keeps going.

The Pogues were on too.

As were the Police.

And The Specials

There is a ton more out there to post. I just ran into information overload. However, if you have the chance go look this program up. Depending on where you are from, it will be something new and fun, or it could just be a nice walk down memory lane.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

