Skip to content

Mounting USB errors? Could be fstab.

July 5, 2011

Yesterday I had to transfer some files from my network to give to a friend. Unfortunately my NB-205 refused to automount the disk. Every time I would insert the drive I would get a busy error and another GUI error about not being able to tell what the file system was.

Here is the error I was getting in dmesg…

UDF-fs: No VRS found
UDF-fs: Rescanning with blocksize 2048
UDF-fs: No VRS found
UDF-fs: No partition found (1)
ISOFS: Unable to identify CD-ROM format.

A bit of googling helped me find this error. I had an entry in fstab that listed my sdb1 as a CDROM.

/dev/sdb1 /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto 0 0

What I believe happened is that when I installed Debian, I used my thumb drive to load up the image. The NB250 is a Netbook so no provisions for a disk drive. So once the install finished, fstab thought the thumb drive was in fact a CD-ROM.

All I had to do to fix this was simply comment the line out with a simple #. So now I have

#/dev/sdb1 /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto 0 0

And everything is hunky-dory again.

Speaking of Hunky Dory…

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

