Skip to content

Codie Prevost – Get Loud

October 29, 2010

So a while back I was contacted by someone asking if I would consider reviewing Codie Prevost. Well now this is a first (And more than likely after reading my review, a last) for me.

You don’t know Codie Prevost? I can’t say I am entirely surprised. First off, many of you are not country fans. And second, Codie is not exactly a household name. Yet.

Hailing from the Great White North ( Saskatchewan to be a touch more precise) Codie and his band are working at getting a foothold in the Nashville scene. From what I can tell, they are paying their dues here stateside. Since this is only his second release (Correction: This is Codie’s second full length release, having released an earlier EP called Spin 6-Pak Vol. 1) , and it looks like he is truly an indie singer, it is tough to get that last push into the mainstream. Plus, from what I know of mainstream country music, it is rare to find an indie country hitmaker.

Country is, for some odd reason, still firmly entrenched in corporate entities. Aren’t you glad to see hardworking blue collar ethics at its finest? However, that’s a rant for another day.

So over the last couple of months I have listened to the album a few times. And I will tell you right now, he is very mainstream accessible. I think if he is given a proper chance on the radio, Prevost could make it. He has the right sound, the right band, and the right music.

Now, I wish I could say that I liked him. But unfortunately I didn’t. His sound is too modern Nashville for me. The whole time I listened to the album, I sat there of two minds.

One said, “this is very accessible, well put together, and the production is top notch.”

The other said, ” this is typical country, too polished, and feels sterile.”

The problem is that I am into the people that are off center and bit odd, a bit over the top, a bit annoying. I want giant cliches if I have to have any. I want million gallon hats, I want Hank Williams, I want Willie Nelson, John motherf**king Conlee. I want Tammy Wynette, and Loretta Lynn. You can see right here, that I have not been aligned with what comes out of Nashville in over twenty years.

For me, the problem is Cody Prevost doesn’t do that. He sits square inside the current heart of country music.

With all that being said, if you are a fan of modern country radio, I really do think you should listen to him. I really think he has a very good modern country sound, and will only get better as he keeps at it. I am curious to see what the next few years brings for him.

On the other hand, if you are like me and can’t sit through 15 minutes of a modern country station without lots of alcohol, you may be better off avoiding the album.

But before I go, I think you should get a chance to hear him yourself.

Standing Still. Honestly I think it is one of the better tracks on his album.

You can check out more Codie Prevost on MySpace or on his YouTube channel.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

