Skip to content

Pebble in the pond

March 20, 2010

Been considering a new change of scenery lately. We came back to California last year to be closer to family and out of the cold.

Well after a year in California, we hardly see any family, and I am starting to hate the whole place.

So now that leaves us with the big question. Where the hell do you go when you don’t like where you are, and you don’t know where to go?

Work is slim to none across the country. Even Utah is looking kinda tough in the light of the recent crash of the economy.

I hate rain, I am not a big fan of the snow. I am a hillbilly, but I hate dealing with them or rednecks for long periods of time. No Texas, no Arizona. Jesus it is harder to figure out where to go than I originally thought.

I love the company that I currently work for, but in the long run I can’t stay. In a few months I get my AA in Information Tech, then I am continuing on to a Bachelors in IT Security. I will be the best educated phone support guy around, but they have nothing I could do otherwise. So in the long run, I need to be smart about what I do and where I go.

So while I know I don’t get many comments on the blog, anyone reading this post have any thoughts for me?

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. grummash permalink

    Shroom – even though I know very little about the USA, I’m going to try and work out a plan for you….. 🙂

    You’ve ruled out Texas and Arizona, anywhere too cold or wet, and also Utah( due to the economy). So I’m going to focus on a strip of states where the conditions crossover from hot and dry to a bit cooler and damper, hoping there is no extreme weather in those states:

    North and South Dakota, Nebraska, Kansas and Oklahoma.

    We’ll ditch Oklahoma straight away just because it borders Texas.

    So that gives us a choice of North and South Dakota, Nebraska, and Kansas.

    We’ll have to ditch North Dakota next, as it turns out to haves some of the most extreme temperature variations on the planet, with a record low temperature is −60 °F (−51.1 °C).

    So that leaves South Dakota, Nebraska, and Kansas.

    Kansas has to go next as it has an unemployment rate of 6.4%, compared to 4.8% and 4.6% form South Dakota and Nebraska respectively.

    Both our finalists are pretty much Republican and Christian, so we are going to ditch Nebraska, because South Dakota has Sturgis!

    And the obvious place to start in South Dakota is Sioux Falls, which Forbes named the #1 Best Small Place For Business And Careers in 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008 and 2009.

    The per-capita general violent crime rate in Sioux Falls is roughly half the United States average, and the financial services industry has a strong presence – just the sort of large employers who can use a newly-qualified IT security genius.

    You may want to look at Park Ridge/Sanford when you are house-hunting!

    DISCLAIMER – this plan may be riddled with problems……what do I know? 🙂

  2. cshroom permalink

    Jim, you have a great wit about you. I appreciate the comments you post. I have actually looked at South Dakota. not sure if it really would be the best option, but it there. We are actually planning a trip to Wyoming next month to visit a friend and also get a feel for the general area. It’s sort of on the border with South Dakota, Nebraska, and Montana. We’ll see if we like the vibe…

Leave a Reply

