Skip to content

Antec Veris -Part 3 (Krusty Krab Edition*)

December 2, 2009

Edit: I just installed 10.04 and it appears that currently that LIRC and the RM 100 play nice with one another. No need to kill ubshid or anything. Though you will need a clean install to really get the benefits. You can see it here.

*Yes, yes. I know, it’s Karmic Koala. But let me have some juvenile fun here, ok?

This is part 3 of my ongoing saga, “Keeping my Antec Veris Working Under Linux.” You can read the previous editions Here and Here.

As my last post mentioned, my motherboard took an unexpected turn for the cooked last week. So I have scraped together an old AMD beater so I can at least listen to NPR and MP3’s and such. This computer doesn’t have SATA, so I had to install using an old IDE drive. So I was starting from scratch here.

Now let’s go into the major changes of LIRC for 9.10.

It actually works!! Yay!!

But it is still half-assed!!! Boo!!!

So do not expect to perform a clean install and run. But, the installation under 9.10 is a lot simpler. Here is what I did to get my Antec Veris to work.

So I am assuming that you have figured out the basics of installing Linux and XBMC and all that good stuff. So we are not going into that.

We have a few little bits of stupidity to fix. Namely usbhid is still b0rk3d.

So open the terminal and go to /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf

sudo nano /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf

Let’s just get it in there right now. Add a line that says blacklist usbhid. Got that? Good.

Now let’s update the system to reflect the change.

sudo depmod -ae

and then

sudo update-initramfs -u

So now we are killing usbhid at the onset or the boot process. This has to be done, otherwise usbhid tries to take over the receiver and lirc will not be able to configure properly. So befire adding lirc, we have to shut down usbhid.

sudo rmmod usbhid

Now we can install lirc

sudo apt-get install lirc

And of course configure it to use the Antec Veris modules and any other special settings you may need. Now, I did some rebooting after this point, but if you do not know how to get into the console using the keyboard, you best not go this route. But the next part is pretty damn simple. Since you have lirc installed, you do not have to do anything particularly special. We do, however, need to edit the lirc file in init.d, so type this next…

sudo nano /etc/init.d/lirc

Now let’s page through this crap and get to the end. Just before you get to exit 0 add a new line

modprobe usbhid

And then save and reboot. By adding the modprobe at the end, the script doesn’t care if you succeed of fail in the start-up, your mouse will work no matter what.

Here is what should happen, you can reboot into the system and be able to test your lirc with irw. It appears that even the supplied config file is good, but you may still want to customize depending on your needs.

That’s all there is to it. While I had to do some hokey crap, in general lirc works. And while it took me a little while to get this figured out, everything worked in the end.

I am still going to try and create a quirks file that will keep me from having to kill usbhid during the boot. But otherwise, I am going to call it a successful installation.

Good luck!

5 Comments
  1. Will permalink

    Hi,
    I think I have a better solution. Rather than changing the default lirc init script, and making usbhid load at a different time, we can just tell modprobe to load the normal lirc modules before usbhid.

    You can do this by adding a new file, /etc/modprobe.d/lirc , with the following in it:

    install usbhid /sbin/modprobe lirc_dev \
    /sbin/modprobe lirc_imon \
    /sbin/modprobe –ignore-install usbhid

    Once I’ve done this things seem to work for me.

  2. Will permalink

    SIgh – looks like the formatting got a little confused. That should be a double – before the ignore-install, and the 2nd and 3rd lines should be indented. You can look at the fred/barney example in the modprobe.conf man page for more info on what this is doing.

    • cshroom permalink

      Thanks Will,

      I would never have thought of that. I will give it a shot and an let everyone know how it works for me.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Linux, LIRC, Imon, and Antec Veris « My Adventures In Stupidity
  2. Linux, LIRC, Imon, and Antec Veris « Hillbilly Heretic

Leave a Reply

