Skip to content

Linux, LIRC, iMon and Antec Veris – Part 2

May 11, 2009

Update If you are looking to get the Antec Veris working under 9.10 (Karmic Koala) Click Here

I get a few hits on this previous thread.

So I have to think that I must not be the only person trying to get this thing to work. Recently I did an upgrade to 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope and rebuilt all my stuff. I purchased a new harddrive for my OS to replace a slightly tired SATA drive I have been running. It is half as large as the drive it is replacing, but it is newer and seem to be a bit snappier.

But this also brought a new host of troubles to my original LIRC build. So I figure that I need to recap it for mine and others benefit.

First this is first. Ubuntu’s LIRC is still fucking broke. Argh!! It is using an earlier version of LIRC. This means that the driver just doesn’t know what to do with my hardware. So boys and girls, remember how to pull this down via CVS and build from source. You will be better off.

And here is rub number 2. make install is not placing the files in the right places. it says it is. but it isn’t. So do a locate for the driver you built (lirc_imon, for me) and copy the new .ko files over them. And you will also need to copy the new lirc_dev.ko to the appropriate areas also. Otherwise you may run into problems getting LIRC to run.

Number 3. You are still going to need to create a custom init.d file to start up LIRC properly. The older post mentioned using a quirks file in the modprobe.d folder. I did this again, with lots of errors. It appears that now the files in there need a .conf extension. but no matter what I did, usbhid was taking control of the receiver. Finally I decided that I would do this half-assed.

There is a file named blacklist.conf, in there I added a blacklist entry
blacklist usbhid

You can guess what this does. No mouse -bye bye-. so here is where I had to change my lirc script file.

#!/bin/bash
modprobe lirc_dev
modprobe lirc_imon
/usr/local/sbin/lircd --driver=default --device=/dev/lirc0 --pidfile=/var/run/lirc0.pid --listen=8765 /etc/lirc/rm100_0.conf
/usr/local/sbin/lircd --driver=default --device=/dev/lirc1 --pidfile=/var/run/lirc1.pid --output=/dev/lircd --connect=localhost:8765 /etc/lirc/rm100_1.conf
modprobe usbhid

As you can see here, I am manually starting lirc_dev, then executing my needed lird’s. And lastly starting the usbhid again.

And to add to my previous posts, I have added my remote files.


# Please make this file available to others
# by sending it to
#
# this config file was automatically generated
# using lirc-0.8.5-CVS(default) on Thu Feb 12 14:10:57 2009
#
# contributed by
#
# brand: ANTEC VERIS BASIC
# model no. of remote control: RM100
# devices being controlled by this remote:
#

begin remote

name ANTEC_VERIS_RM100/0
bits 8
eps 30
aeps 100

one 0 0
zero 0 0
pre_data_bits 24
pre_data 0x20000
gap 211974
## toggle_bit_mask 0x28
## Here is where I broke the second keypress
toggle_bit_mask 0x1400000

begin codes
KEY_ESC 0x2A
KEY_ENTER 0x28
KEY_HOME 0x65
end codes

end remote

And the other file…

# Please make this file available to others
# by sending it to
#
# this config file was automatically generated
# using lirc-0.8.5-CVS(default) on Thu Feb 12 14:25:44 2009
#
# contributed by
#
# brand: ANTEC VERIS BASIC
# model no. of remote control: RM100
# devices being controlled by this remote:/dev/lirc1
#

begin remote

name ANTEC_VERIS_RM100/1
bits 24
eps 30
aeps 100

one 0 0
zero 0 0
post_data_bits 8
post_data 0xB7
gap 411971
# toggle_bit_mask 0x4000
## Here is where I broke the second keypress
toggle_bit_mask 0x0

begin codes
KEY_POWER 0x288195
KEY_POWER2 0x289115
KEY_LEFT 0x29A515
KEY_UP 0x2AA515
KEY_RIGHT 0x2BA515
KEY_DOWN 0x289515
KEY_VOLUMEUP 0x28A395
KEY_VOLUMEDOWN 0x28A595
KEY_MUTE 0x2B9595
KEY_CHANNELUP 0x289395
KEY_CHANNELDOWN 0x288795
KEY_REWIND 0x298315
KEY_PLAY 0x2A8315
KEY_FASTFORWARD 0x2B8315
KEY_MENU 0x2AB195
end codes

end remote

Good luck people.

Leave a Reply

